top of page

Netball and Sports

This past weekend I was invited to shoot a Netball match and let me tell you, it was an exciting experience. I had never shot any sporting event, and from a photographers experience, I didn't know what to expect. I felt a bit lost at the beginning, not sure if I should focus on the action or the players. Should I try to capture mid-play or still of the players? And the answer is yes to all of that. I tried to do a bit of everything. And although I don't think I used the best settings to shoot the event and still have a lot of improvement to do I have to say that I'm quite pleased with the results. I hope I can cover other sporting events in the future, as more than anything, this was an exciting growth opportunity. From getting scared when zoomed into the ball to realise that the action was happening a court away and no ball would hit me, to getting dizzy trying to follow the ball through the viewfinder, and then the joy of seeing m,y university winning the match. I can surely say that it was a beautiful day.


Tom Signing off

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page