top of page

Film Review - Lomography Postdam 100


This Summer I got my hands on of Lomography's latest Black and White Emulsions, the Postdam 100. According to Lomography, this film is inspired by "New German Cinema (...) in the 1960s.".

Even thou I had already shot a roll during the Summer I sent it to develop together with two other black and white films....which was a mistake, It made it impossible to distinguish the three different emulsions. But fear not the review is still going to happen!


As soon as I got to Scottish territory, I loaded one canister into my LC-A+ and shoot away. From street photography to portraits, I tried to test it out to the best of my abilities. Unfortunately, I did mess up the zone focus of my camera ending up with some blurry shots, but that's on me, not the equipment.

As expected, I had a ton of fun testing it out, and really enjoyed the results. The blacks are really pronounced and the grain is subtle but still visible. As it is a 100 ISO film its more suited for sunnier and brighter days, but alas I live in Scotland, and such weather is as rare as a rainy day in Dubai. That being said, the overcast weather together with the film resulted in some, dare I say it,

Poetic shots, which fit in nicely with the "cinematic" feel promised by the brand.

Making the Postdam100 a perfect film to the LC-A+, mixing the cinematic tones with a bit of vignetting. It creates pictures that have a timeless feel to it, I mean apart from aspects like the clothes and cars, the photos look like they could have come from either the 70s, 80s, 90s, or well 2019.


To summarise, it is an incredible emulsion that any film lover should try, especially if you love black and white film, perfect for street photography, and sunny days.


 






18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page