top of page

Style, or lack thereof.



Although still in my infant stages, I consider myself a photographer. But there is something that bothers me quite a bit. I don't know, nor can I explain my style of photography. I'm not sure that photographers can identify their styles readily, but I have a lot of trouble sorting out my own.


I know what I like; I know where my inspiration lies. Even when editing, I know what I prefer, but I can't for the life of me explain my style, especially since I can't really take ownership, as I know where I got the idea. And even if others see my work, I feel like it always ends up derivative and not my own creation. Almost when a magician explains how they cut a woman in half, seeing the trick is incredible; knowing the trick .... feels cheap.

A few years ago, I would say that I strive in street photography, and to this day, it gives me a lot of pleasure, but it feels like a chance click and not my construction.


This feeling was aggravated when I started talking and hanging with photographers. I look at their work can I see their "stamp", either the use of light, the intimacy represented, there are many signs...again with me, It's just part of my life, part of myself. I was there when the shutter closed, and I was there when the photo got edited.


I'm not sure this is my imposter syndrome screaming at me or my own insecurities, but I would love to know what other photographers feel. Do you see your style? Can you even describe it?

Then there is the question of what impacts what. For example, do your personal preferences affect tour style, or is your style your preference?



I love photos where the subject is someone with their back to the camera, almost as if life is nothing but a movie and we are following the character, but is that enough to be considered my style? Is that even what style is?



Maybe I'm just confused; perhaps I'm still developing what will be my style. But, on the other hand, maybe I'm just facing myself and trying to analyze myself. Who knows.

But something tells me this is a topic I will explore more as I grow behind the camera.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page