top of page

Into the viewfinder - La Sardina

Updated: Mar 30, 2019

One of the things I love the most about analogue photography is how much personality each camera has. From a simple disposable camera to high-end models they all have unique aspects to it. Little features and details that make each machine unique.

Yesterday, while having a conversation with a close photographer friend of mine, I started talking about of the ins and outs of some of my gear, what I liked about each camera and the type of photos I took with them. Admittedly that was an EUREKA moment, I have a photo-blog and no idea what to write in it... So why not write about that?!


The following step was a tougth one: what was the best order to review/analyse my cameras (?), first I thought to go from favourite to least favourite, but that was nearly impossible to make such comparison, since it's like asking a teacher for the favourite student. They all have their pros and cons but they shouldn't be ranked in that way. So I decided to go in chronological order, or in order of acquisition if you will.


My La Sardina in all her orange glory!

Technical Aspects:

  • Aperture - fixed f8

  • Shutter Speeds - 1/100 (N), Bulb (B)

  • Focal Length - 22mm

  • Film advance - Knob

  • Focusing - Zone Focusing

  • Focusing Distance - 0.6m -1m, 1m - Infinity

  • Frame Counter - Auto Frame

  • Lightmeter - No

  • Viewfinder - Direct optical viewfinder

My life as a photography enthusiast took a sharp turn into the analogue in February 2018, when my mother asked me what I wanted for my birthday, I didn't really know what to ask for. Suddenly, as a divine sign, I stumbled into Lomography's website and promptly asked for a La Sardina. Not being one to shy away from shocking colours I went with the Orinoco Ochre Edition, in all her orange glory.




I have to admit that at first, it took me a while to get used to some of the personality quirks that the camera has. From the zonal focus, the fact that while rewinding, sometimes it shoots on its own and even due to the wide lens effect.


But just like when meeting someone you need to get used to a new personality so I ended up getting used to all her glorious and fun unique features (I know that cameras are "it" but I see my cameras as my babies so I use he and she pronouns). The plastic lens gives a really nostalgic vibe, reminiscent of disposable cameras that all of us have encountered and used when young (at least if you were born before the digital cameras were arround), especially in holidays and school trips. While the wide lens made me rethink the way I took photographs, forcing me to think twice before pressing the shutter button, skills that I still carry to heart when shooting analogue.


But not all of her traits were difficult to get used to, there are a couple of features that from the get-go enticed me. I've mentioned the plastic lens and its nostalgic effect but failed to mention the ability to rewind and forward the film at will, as well the ability to shoot multiple shots in the same exposure. Oh, the fun that it is to do double exposures.


Just like your first relationship always will hold a cherished place in your heart, even when you move to better and bigger things, so does La Sardina,is a camera that I keep coming back to, a camera that still holds a really important place in my collection.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page